2008 Awards

September 23, 2008 (ATLANTA) – Junior golfers and their families from around the Atlanta-area came together to celebrate and be honored at the annual Atlanta Junior Golf (AJG) awards banquet held at prestigious Druid Hills Golf Club. Kicking off the evening was guest speaker, 2006 USGA Mid-Amateur Champion, Dave Womack, who spoke before more than 150 attendees about his experiences with AJG, the benefits of amateur golf at any level and his time spent competing in the 2007 Masters.

Blaire Minter (Marietta) and Ross Thomson (Marietta) were both recognized for their outstanding seasons on the golf course, each player claimed the coveted Giddings’ Cup at the Grand Championship held in August and top honors at the banquet as Players of the Year in their respective divisions. Thomson also claimed the Metro Atlanta Automobile Dealers Association (MAADA) Award for accruing the highest point average at the end of the season, a perfect 120 points.

Keeping with the tradition of the evening, juniors were recognized for their success in the following categories: All-Atlanta Junior Golf Teams, comprised of the top-10 juniors in the Open and the top-five juniors in the Club divisions; All-Atlanta Junior Golf Academic Teams, recognizing high school boys and girls, who have excelled in the classroom during the previous school year with a 3.5 or higher grade point average; Overall Boys and Girls Grand Champions; and Players of the Year, boys and girls in the Open divisions, who completed the year on top.

The first ever Junior Golf Ambassador award was presented to former, long-time executive director, Merilee Giddings, for her outstanding support and dedication to the development of junior golf in Atlanta and around the country. Her lasting leadership is still noticeable in AJG today.

Additionally, The Larry Nelson Sportsmanship Award presented by the AT&T Classic, which identifies two individuals who demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship as voted on by summer staff members, was awarded to Rance Nix (Atlanta) and Martavious Adams (Ellenwood). The Most Improved Male and Female Awards were given to Open division players Noah Nettleton (McDonough) and Emily Kurey (Roswell), and the Aroha “Roh” Wezner Trophy, similar to the PGA Tour’s Vardon Scoring Trophy, was awarded to Buster Bruton for the associations lowest scoring average for the season.

 Club Division Award Winners
Boys 12 & Under 
Boys 13 & Over
Girls 7-18

Michael Sheahan
Mitchell Rostowsky
Spencer Ralston
Graham Burson
Justin Davie

Jack Banda
Jake Forbes
Nicholas Marin
Nick Gainey
Daniel Goeckel

Sydney Needham
Melanie Talbott
Ansley Bowman
Hannah Deems
Abbey Williams
Bailey Tardy

Boys 13-14

Boys 15-18

Girls 7-18

Tommy Swearingen Boyd Wilson
Austin Howard
Jason Mendel
Allen Acejas
Michael Webb
Landon Heath

Josh Klipstein
Buck Patton
Kevin Tillis
Tyler Simpson
Andrew Porubiansky

Lauren Giambastiani
Turner Fordham
Courtney Moore
Angelique Valentine
Mary Linder
Kaylee Random


Open Division Award Winners

Boys 12 & Under
Boys 13 & Over
Girls 7-18

*Benjamin Shipp  Hunter Elliott
Nicholas Mineo
Kason Bloom
Spencer Papciak
Jack Larkin
Matthew Collins
Connor Coffee
Andre Leveque
Austin Mancilla



*James Bernhardt
Matthew Anderson
Daniel Conner
Allan Watson
Colby Hipp
Anh Tran-Le
Zack Weld
Adejia "DJ" Boutte'
Kyle Wilkinson
Conner Godwin

*Stephanie Vandiver
Kayley Marschke
Carlisle Withers
Karly Robinson
Shannon O'Keefe
Sally Morgan
Malorie Smith
Cristianna Cambrice
Jennifer Nall
Samantha Searles

18-Hole Boys
12 & Under
Boys 13-14
Boys 15-18

*Buster Bruton
Kristopher Douglass
Nick Fazio
Jonathan Keppler
Bailey Ulp
Tye Waller
Jonathan Mason
Grant Lasseter
Billy Johns
K.J. Smith
Parker Plageman

*Shea Sylvester
Garrett Marschke
John Harman
Will McFarlin
Carson Willis
Ross Whatley
Cameron Winders
Michael Booker
John Yi
Connor Edwards

***Ross Thomson
Sean Bolen
James Jordan
Beau Gammage
David Kalpak
Ben Harris
Tate Miller
Paul Bruckner
Anthony Amodeo
Michael Smith


Girls 7-18

***Blaire Minter
Jackie Trujillo
Rinko Mitsunaga
Jenny Qian
Isabella Skinner
Michaela Owen
Emily Kurey
Sloan Shanahan
Ashley Frier
Lauren Smith
Jerrah Baker

*Player of the Year, **Overall Grand Champion

All-AJG Academic Team


William Barr
John Bosarge
Jeff Brum
Ross Butler
Taylor Coan
Randall Copelan
Matthew Cribb
Lauren Danish
William Delahanty
Connor Dobbs
Ryan Duckworth
Hannah Earle
Chase Eby
Alex Edelson
William Edwards
Alex Elmore
Blake Englehard
Cody Fleming
Cole Fontaine
Ashley Frier
Beau Gammage
Michael Garmon
Lauren Giambastiani
Evan Glanville
Scott Gobbi
Emee Herbert
Austin Howard
Tate Hughes
Erica Johns
David Kalpak

Byron Kenney
Zach Kopelman
Zachary Lamers
Caleb Langford
Dylan Langford
Hillary Lewis
John Licata
Mary Kate Linder
William Linder
Jonathan Lynn
Drake Mayhew
Meghan McCauley
Christopher Patton
Jeffery Pickens
Garrett Potts
Taylor Pratt
Timothy Pratt
Austin Purgason
Kaylee Random
Connor Ratcliffe
Clinton Reeves
Andrew Reller
Katie Schnetzer
Tyler Simpson
Zachary Stinebaugh
Robert Thompson
Jackie Trujillo
Katie Voll
Haley Zagoria